Why Vegas, Reason Number…..

Why Vegas, Reason Number…..

The Lou Groza Award was established in 1992 to recognize the top place kicker in college football each year.  In 1997, I was myself fortunate enough to be a part of the festivities.  As one of the three finalists I was invited to West Palm Beach, FL.  I witnessed first hand the professionalism surrounding the prestigious award.  I made it a goal, even then, to one day help other athletes experience what I was able to.  Fast forward six years and Vegas was created.

Vegas was created in 2003 to establish credible rating standards for high school kickers/punters. Vegas provided the ultimate exposure, which in turn created opportunity for thousands to follow.  Some of the goals/objectives that I had written down then were: exposure, national rankings, college opportunity, scholarships, Lou Groza Award winners, NFL Draftees, larger NFL contracts, etc.  Fast forward to 2016 and …… mission accomplished.  There is still a ways to go, but progress has been made each and every year thanks to Vegas.

Since 2003, six Vegas participants have gone on to win the Lou Groza Award.  Even more impressive, six of the past nine Lou Groza Award Winners were Vegas participants.  Take a look:

Dan Bailey

2007 – Thomas Weber (Arizona State)
2009 – Kai Forbath (UCLA)
2010 – Dan Bailey (Oklahoma State)
2011 – Randy Bullock (Texas A&M)
2014 – Brad Craddock (Maryland)
2015 – Ka’imi Fairbairn (UCLA)

Of course, the hard work doesn’t stop upon graduation from High School.  Chris Sailer Kicking continues to work with these and all athletes throughout college and on the NFL.  Just one more reason to attend Vegas XXIX January 14-15!  Register Here


 Ka'imi Fairbairn, 2015 Lou Groza Award Winner

Ka’imi Fairbairn, 2015 Lou Groza Award Winner