FL Spring Camp Recap – Jose Borragales Wins It!

The road to Vegas XXVIII continued this past weekend in Melbourne, FL.  There was a great mix of young up and comers along with experienced veterans.  This might have been the most competitive spring camp yet and the championship was truly up for grabs.  Take a look at the results:

Overall Camp Champion: Jose Borregales (2016, FL) – The FIU commit was solid in all areas of the game throughout the day.  He won the punt competition, but look for him to star as a placekicker at the next level.  He has excellent range off the ground on field goals and kicks with nice consistency. He also hits a D1 ball on kickoffs.

Field Goal Champion: Colton Norris  (2017, FL) – Colton was one of the nice surprises at the camp.  He is a great looking athlete with a strong leg.  He has excellent potential as a kicker.  He hit many 50+ yard field goals and also kicked off well.  He is a solid college prospect.

Field Goal Champion: Evan Legassey (2017, FL) – Evan is a big time combo prospect.  He is big, tall, strong and athletic.  He has 55+ yard range off the ground on field goals.  His kickoffs are impressive (hit a 73 yard, 4.23 kickoff).  He also has a great punting frame an nice natural ability.  Evan should turn the heads of D1 coaches this summer.

Kickoff Champion: Santiago Arango (JC, FL) – The Chris Sailer Kicking veteran put in another impressive performance.  He was very strong all day on field goals.  Santiago kicks with great technique and consistency.  He has also improved tremendously on his kickoffs.  He is now hitting 70+ yard balls with over 4.0 second hang time.  Santiago has the tools to compete at any college level.

Class of 2017 Standouts: Zachary Thomson, Vladamir Rivas, Michael Leisle, Marco Salani, Karim Darwiche.

Class of 2018 Standouts: Javan Rice, Matthew Brust, Sterling Rockwell, Jarrett Mills

Class of 2019 Standouts: Patrick Markwalter

Top Youth Talent: Andy Borregales, Nick Decker

For full rankings and more information, visit www.ChrisSailerKicking.com Chris Sailer Kicking will next make stops in Dallas, TX (May 15) and Los Angeles, CA (May 15).  The spring will culminate with the largest national specialist camp in the world, Vegas XXVIII (May 21-22). REGISTER HERE  To be the best, train with the best.  #TeamSailer


2015 Chris Sailer Award Semi-Finalists Announced!

2015 Chris Sailer Award Semi-Finalists (15)
*In alphabetical order by first name

Brandon Cunningham (2016, TX)
14-15 FG’s (Long 43) 44-47 Extra Points

Brenton King (2017, GA)
15-18 FG’s (Long 50) 54-55 Extra Points

Briggs Bourgeois (2017, LA)
15-19 FG’s (Long 51) 35-36 Extra Points

Cosby Gray (2016, AL)
15-19 FG’s (Long 44) 33-33 Extra Points

Crews Holt (2016, TN)
13-17 FG’s (Long 55, 52) 62-63 Extra Points

David Cooper (2016, VA)
17-20 FG’s (Long 53, 51) 30-31 Extra Points

Grant Gonya (2018, OH)
12-12 FG’s (Long 43) 37-38 Extra Points

Jackson Smith (2016, TX)
16-21 FG’s (Long 45) 61-63 Extra Points

Jake Koehnke (2016, CA)
15-18 FG’s (Long 49) 32-32 Extra Points

Jose Borregales (2016, FL)
13-14 FG’s (Long 38) 48-51 Extra Points

Keith Duncan (2016, NC)
22-27 FG’s (Long 54, 52, 52, 50, 50) 60 – 60 Extra Points

Matt Araiza (2018, CA)
15-17 FG’s (Long 45) 50-53 Extra Points

Samuel Sloman (2016, GA)
19-21 FG’s (Long 53) 39-39 Extra Points

Skyler Southam (2016, UT)
20-26 FG’s (Long 53, 53) 33-34 Extra Points

Ricardo Terreaux (2016, AR)
14-15 (Long 43) 40-42 Extra Points

What is the Award?
The Chris Sailer Award is presented on an annual basis to the best national high school placekicker for that given season.

Who Is Eligible?
Every athlete that plays high school football at the varsity level, regardless of state, division, or age. You DO NOT have to attend a Chris Sailer Kicking camp to win this award.

How Do You Win?
Put up the best statistics for that give season. This includes: Field Goals made, Field Goal percentage, Field Goal Long, distances of all Field Goals made, Extra Points made, Extra Point percentage, game winning Field Goals made. The Chris Sailer Award selection committee will vote for the winner.

How Does the Voting Take Place?
The Chris Sailer Award Selection Committee will vote for the winner. The Committee includes: Chris Sailer, past and current NFL kickers, past and current NCAA kickers, past finalists for the Chris Sailer Award, and Sports writers and columnists.

August: A Watch List of 15 Placekickers will be announced each year before the high school football season begins. The players on the Watch List were selected based on statistics from the previous season and upcoming season expectations. The eventual winner does NOT have to be on the Watch List to win the awards.

November 30: Fifteen Semi-Finalists are announced. The Semi-Finalists will be determined by committee selection.

December 10: The Three Finalists are announced. The Finalists will be determined by total votes. 3 points (1st Place Vote), 2 points (2nd Place Vote), 1 Point (3rd Place Vote). In the case of a tie, Chris Sailer will break the tie with his vote.

January 15: The winner will be announced at the JW Marriott Hotel in Las Vegas, NV (7:00 PM). The winner will be determined by total votes. 3 points (1st Place Vote), 2 points (2nd Place Vote), 1 Point (3rd Place Vote). In the case of a tie, Chris Sailer will break the tie with his vote.

All statistics will have to be verified by your high school head coach before you can be announced as a Finalist.

Previous Winners:
2011 – Alex Ball (California), Lamar
2012 – Wyatt Schmidt (Minnesota), USC (Southern California)
2013 – Cole Hedlund (Texas), Arkansas
2014 – Tyler Bass (Georgia), Georgia Southern

Lindale Football Stadium at Night