2014 Chris Sailer Kicking High School & College Football Awards

The 2014 High School and College football season was an absolute great one.  Chris Sailer Kicking Kickers & Punters enjoyed tremendous success and influenced the outcome of games week in and week out.  Take a look at the many deserving national awards winners!

2014 Chris Sailer Award – Presented to the National High School Placekicker of the Year
WinnerTyler Bass, SC, Class of 2015

Past Chris Sailer Award Winners
2013 – Cole Hedlund, TX, Class of 2014
2012 – Wyatt Schmidt, MN, Class of 2013
2011 – Alex Ball, CA, Class of 2012

2014 Chris Sailer Kicking College All-American Kickers
1st Team – Brad Craddock, Maryland
2nd Team – Josh Lambert, West Virginia
3rd Team – Ross Martin, Duke

Past Chris Sailer Kicking College All-American Kickers

2013 Chris Sailer Kicking College All American Kickers
1st Team – Marshall Morgan, Georgia
2nd Team – Jared Roberts, Colorado State
3rd Team – Michael Hunnicutt, Oklahoma

2012 Chris Sailer Kicking College All-Americans Kickers
1st Team – Dustin Hopkins, Florida State
2nd Team – Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State
3rd Team – Jeff Budzien, Northwestern

2014 Chris Sailer Kicking College All-American Punters
1st Team – J.K. Scott, Alabama
2nd Team – Wil Baumann, NC State
3rd Team – Alex Boy, Nevada

Past Chris Sailer Kicking College All-American Punters

2013 Chris Sailer Kicking College All American Punters
1st Team – Drew Kaser, Texas A&M
2nd Team – Cody Mandell, Alabama
3rd Team – Spencer Roth, Baylor

2012 Chris Sailer Kicking College All-American Punters
1st Team – Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech
2nd Team – Sean Sellwood, Utah
3rd Team- Quinn Sharp, Oklahoma State

2014 Chris Sailer Kicking High School All-American Kickers
1st Team – Tyler Bass (SC)
2nd Team – Joey Gogol (GA)
3rd Team – Mason Weissenhofer (IL)

Past Chris Sailer Kicking High School All-American Kickers

2013 Chris Sailer Kicking High School All-American Kickers
1st Team – Cole Hedlund (TX)
2nd Team – John Duvic (IL)
3rd Team – Alex Spence (SC)

2014 Chris Sailer Kicking High School All-American Punters
1st Team – Alex Trifonovitch (HI)
2nd Team – Skyler Southam (UT)
3rd Team – Tyler Flathau (MS)

Past Chris Sailer Kicking High School All-American Punters

2013 Chris Sailer Kicking High School All-American Punters
1st Team – Marc Nolan (GA)
2nd Team – Logan Cooke (MS)
3rd Team – Matt Stewart (CA)

OTHER AWARDS2014 Chris Sailer Kicking Most Improved Awards

Class of 2018 – Jonah Lipel, CA
Class of 2017 – Bryce Webb, KY
Class of 2016 – Seth Kujawski, NC
Class of 2015 – James Ramming, NC

2014 Chris Sailer Kicking Best Social Media Award
Jamie Sutcliffe, CA, Class of 2015

2014 Best Representative of Chris Sailer Kicking Award
Quinton Conaway, OK, Class 2015

2014 Awards


TOP 5 Questions Regarding The Chris Sailer Award

1. What is it?

  • Each year, The Chris Sailer Award is presented to the national high school Placekicker of the Year. The award is given out the day before the largest Kicking, Punting & Long Snapping  event in the world in January in Las Vegas.

2. When is it?

  • This year, The Chris Sailer Award will be presented to a lucky, and very deserving placekicker, on January 16th at the JW Marriott in Las Vegas.

3. Who is allowed to attend the Awards Show?

  • It is open to all and attire is casual. Doors will open at 7 pm at the JW Marriott in the Valencia Ballroom (follow the signs). Trust me when I tell you, you will NOT want to miss this as new MC’s will be hosting AND we will be presenting other awards as well.

4. Who are the three finalists?

  • Mason Weissenhofer, Montini Catholic HS, IL
  • Joey Gogol, Marist HS, GA
  • Tyler Bass, Dutch Fork HS, SC

5. Who is on the Chris Sailer Award Selection Committee and what is their role?

They are the people that vote on the winner. Each committee member votes for a 1st, 2nd and 3rd place finisher. Votes are tallied and the winner is announced at the awards banquet.

Aaron Perez (CSK Staff)
Joe Houston (CSK Staff)
Chris Nendick (CSK Staff)
Obi Egekeze (CSK Staff)
Nacho Brache (CSK Staff)
Erik Folk (CSK Staff)
Nick Folk (Jets)
Jeff Locke (Vikings)
Blair Walsh (Vikings)
Kai Forbath (Redskins)
Randy Taylor (NCSA)
Greg Biggins (Scout.com)
Brandon Huffman (Scout.com)
Chris Rubio (Rubio Long Snapping)
Alex Ball (Former Sailer Award Winner)
Wyatt Schmidt (Former Sailer Award Winner)
Cole Hedlund (Former Sailer Award Winner)

Hedlund Herbalife 24 Award
Cole Hedlund – 2013 Chris Sailer Award Winner


Announcing the 2014 Chris Sailer Award Finalists

Here are your finalists, in alphabetical order, for The Chris Sailer Award…
  • Joey Gogol – Marist HS, GA (16-20 FG’s, Long 53 / 40-41 Extra Points)
  • Mason Weissenhofer – Montini Catholic HS, IL (16-19 FG’s, Long 44 / 56-56 Extra Points)
  • Tyler Bass – Dutch Fork HS, SC (18-20 FG’s, Long 47 / 74-76 Extra Points)
Now, is it when it will really get intense. Each finalist has the option of doing the following….
  • Sending in a two minute highlight video explaining why they should be the next recipient of The Chris Sailer Award. Video can include Kicking highlights, personal interviews and even a first hand interview of the finalists. This will need to be uploaded to YouTube with the title = NAME, Chris Sailer Award Finalists, 2014.
  • Getting recommendation letters from coaches, sports writers, etc.
All information must be sent to Chris@ChrisSailerKicking.com  by December 19th.
The winner will be presented with the trophy on Friday, January 16th at 7:00 pm at the JW Marriott in Las Vegas, NV.
The Chris Sailer Award is presented, on an annual basis, to the best national high school placekicker for that given season. Past winners include Alex Ball (2011), Wyatt Schmidt (2012) and Cole Hedlund (2013).
Chris Sailer played for Notre Dame High School (1993-1995).  He was an All-American PK and Punter. In 1994 he set the national record for most field goals in a season with 22.  Of those 22 field goals, 7 came from beyond 50 yards including success from 58, 57, 57, 54, 52, 52 and 50 yards.  Chris Sailer was rewarded with a full ride scholarship to UCLA in 1995.  He went on to earn All-American Honors as both a placekicker and punter during his time at UCLA. He was a Lou Groza Award Finalist in 1997. He set multiple records while at UCLA including longest field goal of 56 yards (still stands).  He was signed by the San Francisco 49ers and went on to enjoy an 7 year professional career.

The National Placekicker of the Year is named in honor of Chris Sailer for his outstanding high school career and nearly single handedly changing the world of kicking and punting as we know it.  Chris is now the most prominent private kicking and punting  coach in World.  He has made the positions of kicking and punting  a specialty and is revered around the country through his website, as well as camps.  Through his training and development of young kickers and punter, almost 100 high school and junior college kicking & punting specialists now receive full ride scholarships each year for their skill in that position.

Tyler Bass

Mason Weissenhofer

Joey Gogol